Iris F.

Molecular, Cell, & Developmental Biology - UCLA

  • Trusted by schools

410 completed lessons

About me

Hi, I’m Iris! I’m an incoming 4th year at UCLA majoring in Molecular, Cell, & Developmental Biology and minoring in Biomedical Research, on track to graduate summa cum laude next year. I am currently also working as an undergraduate researcher: I have been doing research on the role of glucose metabolism in cardiac regeneration for 2 years in a lab at UCLA, and I have also done research on embryonic kidney development at the U.S. National Cancer Institute. I am passionate about STEM, particularly biology and biochemistry because I love discovering and learning about the amazing ways that life works. 

 

I have always found it fascinating how small changes on a molecular level can translate into a huge impact on the entire world, and how beautifully designed the biological systems are in all organisms on Earth. But what I love even more than learning science myself is educating others in science to spark their interest! I like showing people why science is so fun, full of creativity, and relevant to our everyday life. Especially since I have lots of experience in firsthand scientific discovery through research, I am extremely well- versed in this field despite only being an undergraduate student. 

 

I can make seemingly boring science concepts taught in high schools become highly relevant and interesting — and in fact, this is exactly what I do in a UCLA program called CityLab. I have been teaching high schoolers advanced, college-level biotechnology concepts and lab experiments in a fun and unorthodox way for the past year. Through my experiences in CityLab, I have had multiple students tell me that I inspired them to pursue a future career in science when they had previously found it boring and difficult. I am also excited to share that I have designed and created my own Neuroscience course at UCLA, which I will be teaching independently to undergraduates next spring. As for tutoring experiences, I will be starting as an SAT Math tutor for a college prep camp next month and am currently a private tutor for an 8th grader in all subjects. My past teaching experiences include tutoring high schoolers in math levels up to AP Calculus BC and AP Statistics, teaching English to middle schoolers, and working as a TA at Kumon Learning Center.

 

I would say that my teaching style tends to include making the subject more relevant and interesting for the student, because I believe having interest in the subject significantly facilitates studying and learning. I also love to use analogies that make concepts more tangible for students. Looking forward to speaking with some of you! 🙂

About my sessions

My lessons will be structured by allowing lots of time for the student to ask questions to help the learning process. I will also end every lesson with a useful task/question for the student to answer to help consolidate their understanding prior to the next lesson. I hope progress will become apparent, but I think regular mini tests are also important to ensure understanding and help show areas that can be improved upon. Allowing the student to go over material in their own time after the lesson I believe is key for them to develop a solid understanding of the subject.

Personally interviewed

We only take tutor applications from candidates who are studying at the UK’s leading universities. Candidates who fulfil our grade criteria then pass to the interview stage, where a member of the TiC team will personally assess them for subject knowledge, communication skills and general tutoring approach. About 1 in 10 becomes a tutor on our site.

Qualifications

SubjectQualificationGrade
Maths A-level (A2)A*
Further MathematicsA-level (A2)A
ChemistryA-level (A2)A
TSA Uni admission test PASS
PhysicsA-level (A2)A*

General Availability

[table “” not found /]

Subjects offered

[table “” not found /]

Send the Tutor a message.

A Free Trial is a great next step. Just ask the tutor below!